Life Lately: Our Big Boy / Girl Pants

When I took Blaine to his one-year appointment at the pediatrician’s office in March, our doctor was overjoyed to hear that we were expecting another baby. (She knows how hard we tried for Blaine.) At some point in the conversation, though, she urged me not to force Blaine to be a “big boy” too soon. Even though he’ll be a big brother, he’s still a baby, too.

Say what?

Mama can only handle one baby at a time. Literally. For six weeks after my scheduled C-section in October (joy), I won’t be able to pick up my little quarter-pounder. I need him to grow up a little…just a little. Since that appointment, he’s learned to walk on his own, which has been a tremendous help. But I still need him to learn to be a little more independent. Time at home in California has taught me that I maaaayyyyy just coddle him a little too much. I let him pull me to my feet to help him with something that I know he can do by himself. I hold / carry him at the drop of a hat. (Obviously, when things get rough or he needs a hug, I will be there. But when he gets mad at me for saying “no” and then wants me to hold him…not so much.) And I’m quick to give him his pacifier when he’s upset or grumpy. (It’s in almost every photo of our trip.)

Old Trusty.

Old Trusty.

So lately, we (and I do mean “we” – I’m training myself to not give in as often) have been weaning off of two things: a.) being held when he could walk or explore, and b.) using his pacifier instead of observing, relaxing, and engaging in a situation. So far, I give us both a B+. Except for naps and when he first wakes up, he hasn’t really missed the paci. (Side note: he’s also babbling a lot more with his free mouth, which is good!)  And he’s learning to accept my hand as an alternative to my entire upper-torso. Much more convenient.

A paci, a cracker, and Mr. Monkeybritches. One of these things has to go...

A pacifier, a cracker, and Mr. Monkeybritches (a sock monkey whose leg can be barely seen). One of these comfort items has to go…

 

I don’t want him to grow up too early, but I do want us all to be happy, healthy, and well-adjusted by the time Baby Brother arrives in the fall. That gives us 8 more weeks of practice for the day when I’m so exhausted from sleep deprivation and 3 a.m. feedings that I can’t pick up anyone but myself, let alone locate a missing pacifier. (It’s under the couch.)

Linking up with ‘Wild and Precious’ today – check out some other fun stuff going on in their lives!

4 thoughts on “Life Lately: Our Big Boy / Girl Pants

  1. When our son was about 9 months old, my husband decided he should go without the pacifier during the day, only using it for naps and bedtime. I was ticked off, thinking “But you aren’t the one who is here with him all day for all his whining!” It didn’t take long for him to forget about it during the day, and we noticed the same thing with babbling a lot more. And we have the same due date as you for our second boy, so good luck and I’ll keep checking in!

    • Mine is already 16 months…I guess it’s high time. I was proud of myself when we weaned him off the “Soothie” and onto normal 12-month-old pacifiers. Sheesh. Motherhood: if it’s not one thing it’s another. But I am so proud of him so far!

  2. What a cutie your little guy is! I hadn’t even thought about the fact that you can’t life anything heavy after a c-section (even if it is the cutest little boy ever!). When we have number 2 I’ll have to figure out how to deal! Congrats on number 3 and I love your photos.

  3. Oh my goodness, who wouldn’t coddle that adorable little boy. Who could resist that adorable face? I am sure, your baby steps to a more independent Blaine will only make everyone happier and not force him to pack up and leave for college anytime soon 🙂

Care to comment?

