Through His Eyes

There are so many posts swimming around in my head right now – rants and raves and everything in between – because our trip to California was an eventful one. Traveling with a toddler is a whole new animal for me. I’ve taken Blaine home to CA four other times, but this is the first time he’s been a walking, talking, engaging human being. Hands down, the most wonderful part of our trip was introducing Blaine to some of the things that I loved about growing up on the Central Coast. It is so amazing to see things through his eyes – everything is new and awe-inspiring…and sometimes scary. He is a brave little man when it comes to animals, new places, and new sensory experiences.

Watching street performers at the San Luis Obispo Farmer's Market

Watching street performers at the San Luis Obispo Farmer’s Market

Oh, the bounty that is the California eleven-month growing season.

Oh, the bounty that is the California eleven-month growing season.

My little guy, though quick to try something new, is oftentimes nervous around crowds and lots of noise. So, I was worried that the San Luis Obispo Farmer’s Market might be too much for him. But he proved me wrong and loved the street performers – even daring to get too close for my comfort, considering they were juggling machetes and riding 10-foot tall unicycles. Seriously. I loved the fresh fruits and veggies and pined for a farmers market that boasted more than just three veggie booths and a dozen craft-fair-ish booths. (Sigh. One can wish.)

At the California Mid-State Fair - the best fair ever - in Paso Robles.

At the California Mid-State Fair – the best fair ever – in Paso Robles.

Sheep and piggies and horses, oh my!

Sheep and piggies and horses, oh my!

Yes, we bought a Jamba juice and a corn dog. A little bit fair food and a little bit California food.

Yes, we bought a Jamba juice and a corn dog. A little bit fair food and a little bit California food.

My brother and I took him to the California Mid-State Fair, where I showed / sold animals for nearly 10 years, and we had a really nice time. He got to see horses, sheep, cows, more sheep, a spider monkey, carnies, and more jars of homemade jelly than even I cared to look at. All the things I loved about the fair…I got to share with him. And though we couldn’t stay nearly as long as single-not-a-mom me would previously had stayed, it was okay. That’s just what you do.

 

Chasing geese (probably the same ones that bit me when I was three) at the park in Atascadero.

Chasing geese (probably the same ones that bit me when I was three) at the park in Atascadero.

Though he was a bit clingy for most of the trip, he did manage to separate himself from my bosom long enough to chase some geese (the boy loves his animals) at the very same park that I played at when I was a little tyke-ette. Just like back then, Grampa (my dad) wasn’t far behind to make sure no Blaines were harmed in the making of this photo.

Nostalgia takes on new meaning when you see your little boy as your parents must have seen you so many years ago. I can’t wait to see what places, experiences, and activities Blaine will someday share with his children. But I’m getting ahead of myself…he needs to learn how to talk first.

 

 

One thought on “Through His Eyes

Care to comment?

