Life Lately: Cheerleading

If there’s one thing I love, it’s doing stuff. To be more specific, I love events. I love running in them, paddling in them, biking in them, and singing in them (it’s been a long time for that, though). Since I’m not of the über-mench pregnant woman variety (have you SEEN those women who run marathons while 7-months pregnant?), I haven’t been an active participant in any of the sweet events that happen in the summertime around here lately.
Cheerleading (2 of 6)

But, I can volunteer and cheer. A few weeks ago, I volunteered at our town’s Whitewater Festival. Our local go-get-em adventure group – FAR –  sponsors an obstacle race and I, being the cheerleader that I am, volunteered to give directions at one particularly difficult part of the race. It was fun to see all the racers and be part of the event. Hey, I got a t-shirt. It even fits over my belly.

Cheerleading (5 of 6)

And yesterday, Blaine and I came down to the river to cheer for a group of mommies in our playgroup who were participating in the second annual ‘Battle of the Bighorn’ – a combination raft trip / obstacle race that culminates at my husband’s place of work. So, we got to play in the river while we waited, see daddy, lie in a hammock, and cheer for our friends.

    Cheerleading (6 of 6)

(This photo aught to tell you why I never do ‘outfit’ posts. Nobody is pinning baseball caps on Polyore.) Then everyone got all loud and excited and Blaine was scared. He’s a delicate little monkey.

Cheerleading (4 of 6)

So life lately (linking up with Blair from Wild and Precious) is about enjoying some time off from participating…and just enjoying being a cheerleader.

2 thoughts on “Life Lately: Cheerleading

  1. I saw your comment on my blog and replied!

    This event looks like so much fun. I’ve only gone whitewater rafting once in my life, and it was a blast! I’ve never volunteered for one, though. Heck, with my near 22 month old, I wouldn’t even know where to begin! Good job, Mama!

    – Aimee @ The C Family Blog

  2. That obstacle race looks like a lot of fun! I would love to do something like that. I can so relate to the baseball caps. I feel like somedays it’s my mommy “uniform” LOL! It’s more comfortable to chase the kiddos when I am in comfty clothes and let’s face it I don’t have much time to even do my hair some mornings. 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog btw! Going to add yours to my bloglovin to keep up. Hope y’all are having a great weekend!

Care to comment?

