A Little Something

Do you ever sit down at the end of a hard day and think to yourself, “I deserve a little something for all that hard work I did today. I mean, I essentially did a P90X workout (over the course of a day) by picking up my 25-pound son 766 times, carrying 8 bags of groceries in on two trips, doing 112 squats (with said toddler) to pick up a cup /snack / book / Mr. Monkeybritches; I did the grocery shopping all by myself and only got tinkled on as a thank-you; made dinner and a potluck dessert; kept the kidlett from eating / stepping in / throwing doggie doo; and managed to feed everyone healthy food despite my cravings for all things fried and sugary.”

Well, I’m sure the actual tasks vary, but the idea is there: we do a LOT as mommies, and the reward is essentially intrinsic.

My job pays in smiles and giggles, which is an amazing bounty, to be sure. But sometimes, just sometimes, I want this instead:

Bern_Helmet

 

I saw it over at The Kubly Girl, and I am green with envy. Stylish and functional? Yes, please! My husband is so forgiving about my need for “things” every once in a while, and I try to be self-governing for the most part. I’m actually a little bit embarrassed to ask him if I can buy this for myself. (He never buys anything material that doesn’t go in his stomach or under the hood of his truck. He’s just minimalist like that.) Aaaand, I may or may not have just bought a super-cute Sherpani purse that was on mega-sale at a little shop in Breckenridge for only $20. Soooo…that may have been my allowance. Sigh. Maybe I’ll sleep on it…

Care to comment?

